## **KICP** workshop



http://kicp-workshops.uchicago.edu/cosmicweb2013/

## LIST OF PARTICIPANTS





The Kavli Institute for Cosmological Physics (KICP) at the University of Chicago will host "Galaxies within the Cosmic Web" workshop on June 17-21, 2013. The workshop will be held in the lecture hall 120 in the Kersten Physics Teaching Center (KPTC) on the University of Chicago campus.

During the last thirty years, studies of structure formation have played a key role in establishing the Cold Dark Matter (CDM) paradigm of structure formation in an expanding universe. In the CDM model the initial Gaussian density perturbations are shaped by gravity into a cosmic web of voids and filaments, at the intersection of which galaxies and galaxy clusters are mainly thought to form. Although the model has been a tremendous success in explaining the observed large-scale structure of the universe, many key aspects of how galaxies form and evolve within this cosmic web of dark matter and diffuse gas are still not understood. The gaps in our understanding not only hamper interpretation of the wealth of observational data on galaxy evolution, but also represent a major systematic uncertainty for cosmological probes of the accelerated expansion of the universe, the nature of gravity, and forecasts and interpretation of direct and indirect dark matter searches.

This workshop will assemble both observers and theorists (target size  $\sim$ 60-80 people) who work on all key aspects of galaxy formation to assess recent progress and, most importantly, to germinate new ideas for how to improve our understanding of galaxy formation, the relation between the baryonic mass of galaxies and their parent halos, the effects of galaxy assembly and associated feedback on the spatial distribution of dark matter, and the interpretation of galaxy clustering and bias from large surveys to constrain the evolution of dark energy. The focus of the meeting will be on the most rapidly developing and interesting topics of research, and the format will include ample time for discussion and unstructured interaction.

## Scientific Organizing Committee

**Charlie Conroy** University of California, Santa Cruz Nickolay Gnedin Fermilab

Andrey Kravtsov The University of Chicago

**Risa Wechsler** Stanford University Francisco Prada Instituto de Fisica Teorica UAM, CSIC

1.	Hector Aceves	Instituto de Astronomia, UNAM
2.	Oscar Agertz	KICP
3.	Mehmet Alpaslan	University of St Andrews, University of Western Australia
4.	Kenza Arraki	NMSU
5.	Guillermo Barro	University of California Santa Cruz
6.	Keith Bechtol	KICP
7.	Matthew Becker	University of Chicago
8.	Peter Behroozi	Stanford University
9.	Andreas Berlind	Vanderbilt University
10.	Richard Bond	University of Toronto
11.	Craig M Booth	University of Chicago
12.	Jo Bovy	Institute for Advanced Study
13.	Michael Boylan-Kolchin	UC Irvine
14.	Aaron D Bray	Harvard University
15.	Alyson Brooks	U Wisconsin, Madison
16.	Rodrigo A Canas	Instituto de Astronomia, UNAM
17.	Daniel Ceverino	Universidad Autonoma Madrid
18.	Pedro Colin	Centro de Radioastronomia y Astrofísica, UNAM
19.	Charlie Conroy	University of California, Santa Cruz
20.	Alis Deason	UC Santa Cruz
21.	Aleks Diamond-Stanic	UC San Diego
22.	Benedikt Diemer	University of Chicago
23.	Andrey Doroshkevich	ASC FIAN
24.	Denis Erkal	University of Chicago
25.	Robert Feldmann	Berkeley
26.	Jonathan Freundlich	LERMA, Observatoire de Paris
27.	Marla Geha	Yale
28.	Oleg Gnedin	University of Michigan
29.	Roberto Gonzalez	University of Chicago
30.	Stefan Gottloeber	Leibniz-Institute for Astrophysics (AIP)
31.	Fabio Governato	University of Washington
32.	Martha Haynes	Cornell University
33.	Andrew Hearin	Fermilab

34.	Amina Helmi	Kapteyn Institute, Groningen
35.	Daniel Holz	KICP
36.	Elise Jennings	KICP
37.	Yuko Kakazu	University of Chicago, KICP
38.	Alexander A Kaurov	the University of Chicago
39.	Anatoly Klypin	NMSU
40.	Andrey Kravtsov	The University of Chicago
41.	Jaswant Kumar	National Astronomical Observatory, CAS- Beijing
42.	Noam I Libeskind	Leibniz Institute for Astrophysics
43.	Heidi Lietzen	Tartu Observatory
44.	Marilena Loverde	University of Chiago
45.	Piero Madau	UC Santa Cruz
46.	SubbaRao Mark	Adler Planetarium/ University of Chicago
47.	Surhud More	Kavli IPMU
48.	Jorge Moreno	University of Victoria
49.	Benjamin P Moster	MPA, Garching
50.	Nikhil Padmanabhan	Yale University
51.	Emmanouil Papastergis	Cornell University
52.	Sergey Pilipenko	Lebedev Physical Institute
53.	Jennifer Piscionere	Vanderbilt
54.	Francisco Prada	Instituto de Fisica Teorica UAM, CSIC
55.	Joel R Primack	UCSC
56.	Reina Reyes	KICP
57.	Tanja Rindler-Daller	The University of Texas at Austin
58.	Sergei Shandarin	Kansas
59.	Manodeep Sinha	Vanderbilt University
60.	Ramin A Skibba	University of California, San Diego
61.	Colin Slater	University of Michigan
62.	Matthias Steinmetz	Leibniz Institute for Astrophysics Potsdam (AIP)
63.	Tomer Tal	UC Santa Cruz
64.	Francisco Tamayo	Universidad Naciolnal Autonoma de Mexico (UNAM)
65.	Sebastian Trujillo-Gomez	NMSU
66.	Sarah Tuttle	McDonald Observatory

67.	Monica Valluri	University of Michigan
68.	Pieter van Dokkum	Yale
69.	Marco Velliscig	Leiden Observatory
70.	Carlos Vera-Ciro	University of Wisconsin-Madison
71.	Matthew Walker	CfA, Harvard
72.	Douglas F Watson	KICP/U. of Chicago
73.	David H. Weinberg	Ohio State University
74.	Gustavo Yepes	U. Autonoma, Madrid
75.	Liang Yu	Yale University
76.	Idit Zehavi	Case Western Reserve University
77.	Yuanyuan Zhang	University of Michigan