Chicago, IL



http://kicp-workshops.uchicago.edu/gwem2013/

LIST OF PARTICIPANTS









http://www.ligo.org/

https://www.cascina.virgo.infn.it/

http://www.uchicago.edu/

http://www.northwestern.edu/

The LIGO Scientific Collaboration (LSC) and the Virgo Collaboration currently plan to start taking data in 2015, and we expect the sensitivity of the network to improve over time. Gravitational-wave transient candidates will be identified promptly upon acquisition of the data; we aim for distributing information with an initial latency of a few tens of minutes initially, possibly improving later. The LSC and the Virgo Collaboration (LVC) are now working to develop a program of accompanying electromagnetic observations. Early positional accuracies of the GW candidates will evolve in time, as described in arxiv.org:1304.0670. During early science runs before publication of the first four gravitational wave events, alerts will be available only through partnerships to be developed under this program (ref. LIGO-M1200055). Partners will be asked to sign a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) involving an agreement on deliverables, publication policies, confidentiality, and reporting. After the publication of the first four gravitational wave events, the current LVC plan is to release alerts on all highly significant detection candidates promptly to the entire scientific community.

The Kavli Institute for Cosmological Physics (KICP) at the University of Chicago and the Center for Interdisciplinary Exploration and Research in Astrophysics (CIERA) at Northwestern University will co-host the meeting on September 10-11, 2013, held on the University of Chicago campus. The meeting will be held in the afternoon of the first day and the morning of the second day.

Organizing Committee

Eric Chassande-Mottin Co-chair of the LVC EM MOU group

Daniel Holz Local organizer **Stephen Eikenberry** Co-chair of the LVC EM MOU group

Vicky Kalogera Local organizer Gabriela Gonzalez LIGO spokesperson

Jean-Yves Vinet Virgo spokesperson

1.	Bernadine Akukwe	Long Island University
2.	James Annis	Fermilab
3.	Matthew Benacquista	University of Texas at Brownsville
4.	Edo Berger	Harvard
5.	Patrick Brady	University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee
6.	Duncan Brown	Syracuse University
7.	Laura Cadonati	U. of Massachusetts Amherst
8.	Brad Cenko	NASA / GSFC
9.	Kenneth C. Chambers	Pan-STARRS, Institute for Astronomy, University of Hawaii
10.	Ranga Ram Chary	Caltech
11.	Hsin-Yu Chen	University of Chicago
12.	Ryan Chornock	Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics
13.	Nelson Christensen	Carleton College and LSC
14.	Valerie Connaughton	University of Alabama in Huntsville
15.	Alessandra Corsi	George Washington University
16.	Philip Cowperthwaite	Harvard University
17.	Teviet Creighton	University of Texas at Brownsville
18.	Mario C Diaz	CGWA THE UNIVERSITY OF TEXAS AT BROWNSVILLE
19.	Ryan Foley	University of Illinois
20.	Wen-fai Fong	Harvard University
21.	Peter Garnavich	University of Notre Dame
22.	Neil Gehrels	NASA-GSFC
23.	Bower Geoffrey	UC Berkeley
24.	Gabriela Gonzalez	Louisiana State University
25.	Chad Hanna	Perimeter Institute
26.	Jacqueline N Hewitt	MIT
27.	Jeremy S Heyl	UBC
28.	Craig Hogan	KICP
29.	Daniel Holz	University of Chicago
30.	Eric Hooper	WIYN Observatory and University of Wisconsin-Madison
31.	Andrew Howell	LCOGT/UCSB
32.	Kevin C Hurley	UC Berkeley Space Sciences Laboratory
33.	Vicky Kalogera	Northwestern University
34.	David Kaplan	UW-Milwaukee
35.	Mansi M. Kasliwal	Carnegie Institution for Science

36.	Erik Katsavounidis	MIT
37.	Michael J Kavic	Long Island University
38.	Jason S Kendall	William Paterson University
39.	Ralf Kotulla	University of Wisconsin - Milwaukee
40.	Alexander Kutyrev	UMCP/GSFC NASA
41.	Albert Lazzarini	LIGO Caltech
42.	Pedro Marronetti	National Science Foundation
43.	Jennifer Marshall	Texas A&M University
44.	Benoit Mours	LAPP-Annecy
45.	Maria Alessandra Papa	Max Planck Inst. for Gravitational Physics (Germany) and Univ. Wisconsin Milwaukee
46.	Larry Price	Caltech
47.	Brian F Rauch	Washington University
48.	David Reitze	LIGO Laboratory, Caltech
49.	Takanori Sakamoto	Aoyama Gakuin University
50.	Peter Shawhan	University of Maryland
51.	John Simonetti	Virginia Tech
52.	Andrew W Smith	University of Utah
53.	Marcelle Soares-Santos	Fermilab
54.	Albert Stebbins	Fermilab
55.	Christopher W Stubbs	Harvard
56.	Ignacio Taboada	Georgia Institute of Technology
57.	Gordana Tesic	Pennsylvania State University
58.	John Tonry	Institute for Astronomy, University of Hawaii
59.	Eleonora Troja	NASA/GSFC/UMCP
60.	Jean-Yves Vinet	CNRS
61.	Alan J Weinstein	Caltech
62.	Atsumasa Yoshida	Aoyama Gakuin University